170 years of dedications of the church
170 years of dedication of the church
Commemoration of 170th anniversary of dedication of St Audoen’s Church
St Audoen’s Church in High Street, Dublin, described by Maurice Craig as “a masterly and most accomplished work,” is one of the least known and appreciated architectural gems of our city. The church houses the award winning Carrara marble statue of Our Lady by Peter Bonnanni and a Walker Organ with 2,300 pipes, installed in 1861. The first fund raising meeting for the church was attended by Daniel O’Connell. The Church, since 2006 has become a spiritual home for the Polish immigrants in Dublin and continues to be the national centre of devotion to St Anne, brought to this city in 1169 by the Anglo-Normans.
This September it celebrates it’s 170th anniversary of dedication. To celebrate the anniversary, and to recognize the efforts of the original founders and succeeding generations, a special thanksgiving Mass will be offered on 18th September at 6pm. The main celebrant will be Bishop Wiesław Lechowicz, Chairman of the Council for Emigrants at the Polish Bishop’s Conference. The homilist will be Very Reverend Monsignor Thomas Stack.